2009 British Lions Tour: 10 Changes in Springboks lineup for final Lions test

South Africa have made 10 changes to their starting line-up for Saturday’s third and final Test against the British and Irish Lions.

Only scrum-half Fourie du Preez, flanker Juan Smith, lock Victor Matfield and props Tendai Mtawarira and John Smit keep their places. Though if you look at the selections, this is still a powerful team with some flair in the backs. Smit the captain still starts at prop, which is perhaps one surprise and we have a new athletic number 8 in Kankowski.

Ryan Kankowski
Ryan Kankowski


South Africa: Kirchner (Bulls); Ndungane (Sharks), Fourie (Lions), Olivier (Bulls), Nokwe (Cheetahs); M Steyn (Bulls), Du Preez (Bulls); Mtawarira (Sharks), Ralepelle (Bulls), Smit (Sharks), Muller (Sharks), Matfield (Bulls), Brussow (Cheetahs), Smith (Cheetahs), Kankowski (Sharks).
Replacements: B du Plessis (Sharks), Steenkamp (Bulls), Carstens (Sharks), Sykes (Sharks), Spies (Bulls), R Pienaar (Sharks), F Steyn (Sharks).