All Blacks V South Africa Teams 30 July 2011 Westpac Stadium, Wellington

Graham Henry makes four changes from the team that played against Fiji last week. In the forwards, Samuel Whitelock returns to the second row, replacing last week’s Test debutant Jarrad Hoeata, who moves to the bench, while Jerome Kaino is back in his usual position at blindside flanker, with Adam Thomson moving to number eight, and Liam Messam to the bench. In the backs, Daniel Carter returns to the number 10 jersey while Cory Jane has recovered from injury and is on the right wing, with Zac Guildford moving to the left wing. On the bench Sonny Bill Williams returns, replacing Ben Smith in the number 22 jersey.

Graham Henry said (quote) They are a proud rugby nation and won’t want a repeat performance so we will have to be ready for that challenge. But we have had a good build–up this week and have picked a team we know that will be up for that challenge. (end Quote)

For the Boks, New Stade Francais recruit Gerhard Mostert will make this debut as one of four changes to the starting XV. Mostert replaces injured lock Flip van der Merwe in the second row, forming a new partnership with Alistair Hargreaves who has recovered from an abdominal strain. Jean Deysel makes his first start in the back row, as
Danie Rossouw shifts to No 8 at the expense of Ashley Johnson, who drops to the bench Deon Stegmann is kept as the openside flank.

There are also two changes in the backline where Patrick Lambie makes his first start in place of the injured Gio Aplon at fullback. The other changes see, Juan de Jongh move to No 12 and Adi Jacobs starts at outside centre with Wynand Olivier dropping to the bench.

De Villiers said: (quote) We have had a few injury challenges on this tour and last week was not a good start, but we have learnt from our game against Australia. There have been some frank exchanges this week and the players know what is expected of them and that this is their opportunity. People may have forgotten that I included Gerhard in my first training squad in 2008 but he has been struggling with different injuries over the past few seasons. He came back strongly for the Sharks this season and now circumstances have given him an opportunity to show what he can do. Pat Lambie also gets his first start and this too is his chance to demonstrate the ability we know he has at test level. It’s a tough challenge for both of them and the rest of the young players but they have a chance to do something special here. (end quote)


New Zealand:
1. Wyatt Crockett
2. Andrew Hore
3. Ben Franks
4. Samuel Whitelock
5. Ali Williams
6. Jerome Kaino
7. Richie McCaw ( captain)
8. Adam Thomson
9. Jimmy Cowan)
10. Daniel Carter
11. Zac Guildford
12. Ma’a Nonu
13. Conrad Smith
14. Cory Jane
15. Mils Muliaina
16. Corey Flynn )
17. John Afoa
18. Jarrad Hoeata)
19. Liam Messam
20. Piri Weepu
21. Colin Slade )
22. Sonny Bill Williams

South Africa:
15 Patrick Lambie The Sharks
14 Bjorn Basson Vodacom Blue Bulls
13 Adi Jacobs The Sharks
12 Juan de Jongh DHL Western Province
11 Lwazi Mvovo The Sharks
10 Morne Steyn Vodacom Blue Bulls
9 Ruan Pienaar Ulster
8 Danie Rossouw Vodacom Blue Bulls
7 Jean Deysel The Sharks
6 Deon Stegmann Vodacom Blue Bulls
5 Alistair Hargreaves The Sharks
4 Gerhard Mostert Stade Francais
3 Werner Kruger Vodacom Blue Bulls
2 John Smit (captain) The Sharks
1 Dean Greyling Vodacom Blue Bulls
16 Chiliboy Ralepelle Vodacom Blue Bulls
17 CJ van der Linde DHL Western Province
18 Ryan Kankowski The Sharks
19 Ashley Johnson Toyota Free State Cheetahs
20 Charl McLeod The Sharks
21 Wynand Olivier Vodacom Blue Bulls
22 Odwa Ndungane The Sharks