Australia v England Teams

Australia host England in the Subiaco Oval, Perth on Saturday 12 June with Kick-off: 1100 BST. Coverage live on Sky Sports 1.

Bath centre Shontayne Hape will make his England Test début in Saturday’s Cook Cup clash with Australia in Perth. The New Zealand-born rugby league convert, 29, takes over at inside centre from the injured Riki Flutey.

Shontayne Hape
Shontayne Hape

Hooker Steve Thompson and lock Tom Palmer both start, and there is a return for Leicester flanker Tom Croft. Leicester hooker George Chuter and Northampton lock Courtney Lawes are both on the bench.

Toby Flood starts at fly-half,with Jonny Wilkinson on the bench. At 9 Danny Care holds off the challenge of scrum-half rival Ben Youngs.

England manager Martin Johnson said of Hape:(quote) I have been very impressed with him. He is a very smart carrier with the ball in hand. He is one of those guys that seems to have a bit more time than most, he is very composed. (end quote)

Australia coach Robbie Deans has made four changes from the team which beat Fiji last weekend for Saturday’s match.

James O’Connor displaces Kurtley Beale at full-back after scoring three tries for the Australian Barbarians in their 28-28 draw with England on Tuesday. Drew Mitchell returns in place of the injured Adam Ashley-Cooper on the left wing.

Australia have a front row with just one cap between them, with prop Ben Daley and hooker Saia Faingaa handed Test débuts alongside tight-head Salesi Ma’afu, who made his début against Fiji last Saturday.

Daley takes over from Ben Alexander, who damaged knee ligaments against Fiji, while hooker Huia Edmonds, also a débutante in the 49-3 win, drops to the bench.

Quade Cooper remains at fly-half outside scrum-half Luke Burgess, with Will Genia on the bench, while Matt Giteau continues at inside centre alongside Rob Horne, who wins his second cap.


Australia team: James O’Connor (Western Force); Digby Ioane (Queensland Reds), Rob Horne (NSW Waratahs), Matt Giteau (ACT Brumbies), Drew Mitchell (NSW Waratahs); Quade Cooper (Queensland Reds), Luke Burgess (NSW Waratahs); Ben Daley (Queensland Reds), Saia Faingaa (Queensland Reds), Salesi Ma’afu (ACT Brumbies), Dean Mumm (NSW Waratahs), Nathan Sharpe (Western Force), Rocky Elsom (ACT Brumbies, capt), David Pocock (Western Force), Richard Brown (Western Force).
Replacements: Huia Edmonds (ACT Brumbies), James Slipper (Queensland Reds), Mark Chisholm (ACT Brumbies), Matt Hodgson (Western Force), Will Genia (Queensland Reds), Berrick Barnes (NSW Waratahs), Kurtley Beale (NSW Waratahs).

England team: Ben Foden (Northampton), Mark Cueto (Sale), Mike Tindall (Gloucester), Shontayne Hape (Bath), Chris Ashton (Northampton); Toby Flood (Leicester), Danny Care (Harlequins); Tim Payne (Wasps), Steve Thompson (Leeds), Dan Cole (Leicester); Simon Shaw (Wasps), Tom Palmer (Stade Francais), Tom Croft (Leicester), Lewis Moody (Leicester – capt), Nick Easter (Harlequins).
Replacements: George Chuter (Leicester), David Wilson (Bath), Courtney Lawes (Northampton), J Haskell (Stade Francais), Ben Youngs (Leicester), Jonny Wilkinson (Toulon), Mathew Tait (Sale).