BaBaas do for the All Blacks – Barbarians 25-18 New Zealand

A hat-trick of tries by Springbok Bryan Habana inspired the Barbarians to only their second-ever win over New Zealand. The teams at Twickenham were perhaps more even than usual as the barbariand were full of stars and the Kiwis new boys and bit part players. This meant that at times the BaBaas seemed the more organised unit and this was reflected in the score line.

Bryan Habana
Bryan Habana

Habana scored two breakaway tries in the first half, with Giteau converting, whilst the All Blacks replied with a Ben Smith try and Donald penalty. Giving us the half time score of 14-10.
The second half and a Matt Giteau penalty made it 17-10 before lock Anthony Boric bundled over for an unconverted New Zealand score. Giteau and Morne Steyn combined to set up Habana for his third, and Steyn’s late penalty ended New Zealand’s 100% record in the final game of their tour. Giving us the final score of:

Barbarians 25-18 New Zealand


Tries: Habana (3) Cons: Giteau (2) Pens: Giteau, Steyn

New Zealand
Tries: Smith, Boric Con: Donald Pens: Donald, Delany


Barbarians: Drew Mitchell (Australia); Joe Rokocoko (New Zealand), Jaque Fourie (South Africa), Jamie Roberts (Wales), Bryan Habana (South Africa); Matt Giteau (Australia), Fourie du Preez (South Africa); Salvatore Perugini (Italy), Bismarck du Plessis (South Africa), W P Nel (uncapped), Carlo del Fava (Italy), Victor Matfield (South Africa, captain), Rocky Elsom (Australia), Schalk Burger (South Africa), George Smith (Australia).
Replacements: Stephen Moore (Australia), Tendai Mtawarira (South Africa), Quintin Geldenhuys (Italy), Andy Powell (Wales), Will Genia (Australia), Morne Steyn (South Africa), Leigh Halfpenny (Wales).

New Zealand: Cory Jane, Ben Smith, Tamati Ellison, Luke McAlister, Zac Guildford, Stephen Donald, Brendon Leonard; Wyatt Crockett, Corey Flynn, John Afoa, Jason Eaton, Anthony Boric, Liam Messam, Richie McCaw, Rodney So’oialo.

Replacements: Andrew Hore, Neemia Tialata, Adam Thomson, Tanerau Latimer, Jimmy Cowan, Mike Delany, Sitiveni Sivivatu.

Attendance: 63,554