England announce squad for BaBaas and Pumas matchs

Leicester’s in-form fly-half Sam Vesty is one of six uncapped players called up, with Cipriani selected in the second-string Saxons squad. There is also a recall for 2003 World Cup-winning hooker Steve Thompson.

England play the Barbarians at Twickenham on 30 May before playing the Pumas home and away, at Old Trafford on 6 June and in Salta a week later.

England’s 34-man squad will be captained by Steve Borthwick and also sees a return for Lewis Moody after an injury-plagued season.

Newcastle prop David Wilson and Tom May, who has been playing at fly-half for the Falcons, are included, along with Harlequins duo Chris Robshaw and Jordan Turner-Hall, plus Gloucester prop Nick Wood.


FORWARDS: S Armitage (London Irish), S Borthwick (Saracens, capt), G Chuter (Leicester), J Crane (Leicester), T Croft (Leicester), L Deacon (Leicester), N Easter (Harlequins), D Hartley (Northampton), J Haskell (Wasps), B Kay (Leicester), N Kennedy (London Irish), L Moody (Leicester), T Payne (Wasps), T Rees (Wasps), C Robshaw (Harlequins), S Thompson (CA Brive), J White (Leicester), D Wilson (Newcastle), N Wood (Gloucester)

BACKS: D Armitage (London Irish), D Care (Harlequins), M Cueto (Sale Sharks), B Foden (Northampton), A Goode (CA Brive), J Turner-Hall (Harlequins), D Hipkiss (Leicester), P Hodgson (London Irish), T May (Newcastle), O Morgan (Gloucester), J Noon (Newcastle), D Strettle(Harlequins), M Tait (Sale Sharks), S Vesty (Leicester), R Wigglesworth (Sale Sharks)