England Senior Elite Player and Saxons squads announced for 2009/10

England Team Manager, Martin Johnson and Elite Rugby Director Rob Andrew, have announced the 32 man England Senior Elite Player and Saxons Elite Player squads.
Jonny Wilkinson is back in favour but Danny Cipriani still has work to do to get into the elite squad.

Martin Johnson said (quote) Selection for the two squads has been very difficult because there is a greater strength in depth of players to choose from now than we had 12 months ago. The England players on the British & Irish Lions tour have played exceptionally well and this has allowed us to look at other players in the two matches against Argentina and in the Churchill Cup.

We feel we have made considerable progress as a squad during the course of last season and we are looking forward to building on this during the August training camp and into the Investec Challenge internationals in November against Australia, Argentina and New Zealand. There is strong competition for places within both of the squads but there will also be opportunities, as there were last year for movement between the Seniors and the Saxons and for players to come in from outside the 64 because of injury, retirement or suspension. Delon Armitage and Mark Cueto are good examples of the latter and Ugo Monye and Joe Worsley have earned Lions caps after being originally selected in the Saxons.

Our selections include players based in France and Rob Andrew and I have had extensive discussions with the French clubs, who have recruited English players and these have gone well. We are looking forward to continuing the positive working relationship with them, which worked so well last season. We will continue to monitor the form and fitness of the following players who were involved with England last season with a view to inviting them to training sessions as appropriate; Andy Goode, James Haskell, Tom May, Jamie Noon, Tom Palmer and Steve Thompson. (end quote)

The England Senior Elite Player and Saxons squads will meet on Sunday August 9 for their pre-season training camp, which will run through to *Friday August 14.


Steffon Armitage (London Irish)
Steve Borthwick (Saracens)
George Chuter CLeicester Tigers)
Jordan Crane (Leicester Tigers)
Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers)
Louis Deacon (Leicester Tigers)
Nick Easter (Harlequins)
Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)
Ben Kay (Leicester Tigers)
Lee Mears (Bath Rugby)
Tim Payne (London Wasps)
Tom Rees (London Wasps
Simon Shaw (London Wasps)
Andrew Sheridan (Sale Sharks)
Phil Vickery (London Wasps)
Julian White (Leicester Tigers)
David Wilson (Bath Rugby)
Joe Worsley (London Wasps)

BACKS (14)
Delon Armitage (London Irish)
Matt Banahan (Bath Rugby)
Danny Care (Harlequins)
Mark Cueto (Sale Sharks)
Harry Ellis (Leicester Tigers)
Toby Flood (Leicester Tigers)
Riki Flutey (CA Brive)
Dan Hipkiss (Leicester Tigers)
Paul Hodgson (London Irish)
Ugo Monye (Harlequins)
Olly Morgan (Gloucester Rugby)
Mathew Tait (Sale Sharks)
Mike Tindall (Gloucester Rugby)
Jonny Wilkinson (Toulon)


Richard Blaze (Leicester Tigers)
Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)
Alex Corbisiero (London Irish)
Nick Kennedy (London Irish)
Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)
Matthew Mullan (Worcester Warriors)
Tom Mercey (Saracens)
Lewis Moody (Leicester Tigers)
Luke Narraway Gloucester Rugby)
David Paice (London Irish)
Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)
Will Skinner (Harlequins)
George Skivington (London Wasps)
Dan Ward-Smith (London Wasps)
Rob Webber (London Wasps)
Nick Wood (Gloucester Rugby)
Ben Woods (Leicester Tigers)

BACKS (15)
Nick Abendanon (Bath Rugby)
Brad Barritt (Saracens)
Danny Cipriani (London Wasps)
Ben Foden (Northampton Saints)
Shane Geraghty (Northampton Saints)
Topsy Ojo (London Irish)
Stephen Myler (Northampton Saints)
Paul Sackey (London Wasps)
Joe Simpson (London Wasps)
David Strettle (Harlequins)
Jordan Turner-Hall (Harlequins)
Sam Vesty (Leicester Tigers)
Dominic Waldouck (London Wasps)
Richard Wigglesworth (Sale Sharks)
Micky Young (Newcastle Falcons)