England squad for Origin match

Here is the squad announced by coach Steve McNamara and it includes Huddersfield scrum-half Danny Brough for the International Origin match against the Exiles on 10 June at Headingley. Brough turned his back on Scotland for a second time earlier this year to join England’s elite training squad. He played for the Scots at the 2008 World Cup.

Steve McNamara the England coach said (quote) He brings a lot to Huddersfield and I am looking forward to him offering those qualities to England. His form has been there for all to see. (end quote)

Noticeable absentees are: Brough’s Huddersfield team-mate Kevin Brown, Hull and Hull KR centres Kirk Yeaman and Kris Welham, the joint leading tryscorers in Super League and St Helens winger Jamie Foster, the third highest English tryscorer in the competition, while Leeds stand-off Danny McGuire has been left out because of fitness concerns.

Included are; Warrington prop Garreth Carvell, a former Wales and Great Britain international, despite not being named in either the elite squad or the England Knights party earlier this year. Leeds forward Jamie Jones-Buchanan also comes in from outside both groups, while Warrington centre Ryan Atkins is the only player to make the step up from the Knights.

The Australian-based trio of Sam Burgess, Gareth Ellis and Gareth Widdop were not made available by their clubs, with the former ruled out anyway because of injury.

McNamara said (quote) There are considerably more than 22 players in the Super League whose current form could justify England selection, which testifies to the high standard of the competition. It is a very pleasing situation to be in. The best rugby league teams have competition for places in every position and that is exactly what we have. (end quote)

England squad:

Ryan Atkins, Chris Bridge, Garreth Carvell, Adrian Morley, Richard Myler, Ben Westwood (all Warrington), Tom Briscoe (Hull), Danny Brough, Eorl Crabtree, Leroy Cudjoe, Luke Robinson (all Huddersfield), James Graham, James Roby, Michael Shenton, Jon Wilkin (all St Helens), Ryan Hall, Jamie Jones-Buchanan, Jamie Peacock, Kevin Sinfield (all Leeds), Sean O’Loughlin, Joel Tomkins, Sam Tomkins (all Wigan).

Jamie Peacock is expected to be confirmed as captain.