England v Australia – Quade Given Vice Captaincy

England host Australia on Saturday 2 November with 14:00 kick-off at
Twickenham Stadium.

qbe 2013

Ewan McKenzie is sticking with the players who have
worked for him over the recent internationals and are not injured. He
has however replaced James Horwill as captain replacing him with
back-row Ben Mowen. The 28 year old only made his test debut against the
British & Irish Lions last June. and it is his second occassion to take
the arm band. Mowen’s number two is Quade Cooper the erratic number ten
who could make or break the game.

Regarding the decision to go with Mowen Australia coach Ewen McKenzie
said “28-year-old Horwill’s recent displays had led to him losing the
captaincy.””By his own lofty standards, James would admit he hasn’t been
at peak form,” said McKenzie.” “We’ve made the decision to remove the
added pressures and responsibilities of being a captain this week so
that he can focus entirely on bringing his ‘A’ game.” “There’s no
doubting James is a world-class leader but it’s important he is putting
his own personal performance first and playing to the level we know he
is capable of on a weekly basis.”

Mowen, who led Australia previously during their 14-13 home win over
Argentina in the recent Rugby Championship, moves to number eight for
Saturday’s Test. He is joined by Scott Fardy on the blind-side. While
Sitaleki Timani moves to partner Horwill in the second row covering Rob
Simmons late withdrawal after re-injuring medial ligaments in training
this week.

Nick Cummins, returns on the wing after recovering from a fractured
hand. Surprisingly Christian Leali’ifano is on the bench with his 12
shirt taken by Matt Toomua.

Fly-half Quade Cooper is made vice-captain and McKenzie said of this:
“We’re recognising Quade for the ongoing decision-making role he plays
on the field and the positive involvements he continues to make in
contributing to the culture of the team off the field,”

Here is the Australia squad in full:

Starting Fifteen: Israel Folau (NSW Waratahs); Adam Ashley-Cooper (NSW
Waratahs), Tevita Kuridrani (ACT Brumbies), Matt Toomua (ACT Brumbies),
Nick Cummins (Western Force); Quade Cooper (vice-captain, Queensland
Reds), Will Genia (Queensland Reds); James Slipper (Queensland Reds),
Stephen Moore (ACT Brumbies), Ben Alexander (ACT Brumbies), Sitaleki
Timani (NSW Waratahs), James Horwill (Queensland Reds), Scott Fardy (ACT
Brumbies), Michael Hooper (NSW Waratahs), Ben Mowen (captain, ACT Brumbies)
Replacements: Saia Fainga’a (Queensland Reds), Benn Robinson (NSW
Waratahs), Sekope Kepu (NSW Waratahs), Kane Douglas (NSW Waratahs), Ben
McCalman (Western Force), Nic White (ACT Brumbies), Christian
Leali’ifano (ACT Brumbies), Bernard Foley (NSW Waratahs)