England world Cup Squad

England coach Tony Smith has named his 24 man squad for the Rugby League World Cup and it includes 15 players who were involved in Saturday’s engage Super League Grand Final. England fly out to Australia on Monday 13 October ready for their first game in Townsville against Papua New Guinea on Saturday 25 October. They then face games against Australia in Melbourne on Sunday 2 November and New Zealand on Saturday 8 November.

Captained by Jamie Peacock, the squad features eight players from champions Leeds Rhinos and seven from defeated finalists St Helens. The other clubs represented are: Wigan Warriors with; Gareth Hock, Mark Calderwood and Mickey Higham, Warrington Wolves with; Martin Gleeson, Adrian Morley and Ben Westwood. Bradford Bulls with; Jamie Langley and Paul Sykes and last but by no means least Rob Purdham of Harlequins RL.

Saturday’s Harry Sunderland man of the match winner Lee Smith earns his first international call-up under Coach Tony Smith capping off a superb week for the 22 year old. 16 of the 19 players who travelled to France earlier this year for the Gillette Fusion International against France make the flight to Australia. Those missings out are Sam Burgess, Peter Fox and Joe Westerman.

The squad which has bags of pace should be ideal for the hard grounds in Australia and we have high hopes of them making the final though it will be a big ask to win the crown down under.

England World Cup squad:

Rob Burrow Leeds Rhinos Age 26
Mark Calderwood Wigan Warriors 26
Gareth Ellis Leeds Rhinos 27
Mauire Fa’asavalu St Helens 28
Ade Gardner St Helens 25
Martin Gleeson Warrington Wolves 28
James Graham St Helens 23
Mickey Higham Wigan Warriors 28
Gareth Hock Wigan Warriors 25
Jamie Jones Buchanan Leeds Rhinos 27
Jamie Langley Bradford Bulls 24
Danny McGuire Leeds Rhinos 25
Adrian Morley Warrington Wolves 31
Jamie Peacock Leeds Rhinos 30
Leon Pryce St Helens 26
Rob Purdham Harlequins RL 28
James Roby St Helens 22
Keith Senior Leeds Rhinos 32
Kevin Sinfield Leeds Rhinos 28
Lee Smith Leeds Rhinos 22
Paul Sykes Bradford Bulls 27
Paul Wellens St Helens 28
Ben Westwood Warrington Wolves 27
Jon Wilkin St Helens 24