France win – France 20-13 South Africa

Four Julien Dupuy penalties helped France overcome South Africa and extend their 12-year unbeaten home record against the world champions. South Africa captain John Smit scored a try, converted by Morne Steyn, who also added a penalty and drop-goal, put the visitors in ahead 13-11 at the break.

But they struggled against the wind in the second half and yellow cards for Steyn and Ryan Kankowski proved costly. Morgan Parra’s penalty and Vincent Clerc’s proving the difference. The victory in Toulouse means that the Springboks have now not won in France since 1997, a run of four games. Final score:

France 20-13 South Africa


Try: Clerc Pens: Dupuy 4, Parra
South Africa
Try: Smit Con: Steyn Pen: Steyn Drop: Steyn


France: Traille; Clerc, David, Mermoz, Heymans; Trinh-Duc, Dupuy; Barcella, Servat, Mas, Nallet, Millo-Chluski, Dusautoir, Harinordoquy, Picamoles.
Replacements: Chabal for David (56), Medard for Heymans (76), Parra for Dupuy (66), Marconnet for Mas (49), Szarzewski for Nallet (56), Bonnaire for Harinordoquy (57).
Not Used: Marty.

South Africa: Kirchner; Pietersen, Fourie, Jacobs, Habana; Steyn, F du Preez; Mtawarira, du Plessis, Smit, Botha, Matfield, Brussow, Burger, Kankowski.
Replacements: Olivier for Jacobs (69), Van der Linde for Mtawarira (54), Strauss for du Plessis (70), Bekker for Botha (7), Rossouw for Burger (47).
Not Used: W. du Preez, Pienaar.

Sin Bin: Steyn (40), Kankowski (68).

Att: 34,936

Ref: Wayne Barnes (RFU).