Ireland draw with Australia – Ireland 20-20 Australia

Australia saw their hopes of a Grand Slam tour disappear in the final minute of time as Brian O’Driscoll marked his 100th Test appearance with a try to help Ireland salvage a 20-20 draw against Australia at Croke Park.

Australia led 10-6 at half-time, thanks to a Drew Mitchell try and conversion by Matt Giteau who also posted a penalty, to two penalties by Ronan O’Gara.

The second period and Tommy Bowe touched down for Ireland converted by O’Gara to give Ireland hope, but then Rocky Elsom scored a try and Matt Giteau kicked the points to put the Aussies 20-13 ahead but O’Driscoll ran in under the posts to make it 20-18. Ronan O’Gara converted with the last kick of the match to level the scores. Final Score:

Ireland 20-20 Australia


Tries: Bowe, O’Driscoll Cons: O’Gara 2 Pens: O’Gara 2
Tries: Mitchell, Elsom Cons: Giteau 2 Pens: Giteau 2


Ireland: Kearney, Bowe, B. O’Driscoll, P. Wallace, Fitzgerald, O’Gara, O’Leary, Healy, Flannery, Hayes, O’Callaghan, O’Connell, Ferris, D. Wallace, Heaslip.
Replacements: Earls for Fitzgerald (53), Leamy for Ferris (75).
Not Used: Cronin, Court, Cullen, Reddan, Sexton.

Australia: Ashley-Cooper, Hynes, Ioane, Cooper, Mitchell, Giteau, Genia, Robinson, Moore, Alexander, Horwill, Chisholm, Elsom, Pocock, Palu.
Replacements: O’Connor for Ashley-Cooper (69), Polota-Nau for Moore (64).
Not Used: Dunning, Mumm, G. Smith, Burgess, Cross.

Sin Bin: Palu (29).

Att: 74,000

Ref: Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa).