Ireland v Samoa Teams

Ireland host Samoa at the Aviva Stadium, Dublin on Saturday 13 November with Kick-off at 1430 GMT, with live coverage on BBC Two NI.

Declan Kidney has made 10 changes in his selection for the game this Saturday as Ronan O’Gara and Peter Stringer earn starts with Luke Fitzgerald switching to full-back, Paddy Wallace and Andrew Trimble are also included. Devin Toner will make his d├ębut and Tom Court, Sean Cronin and John Hayes form a new front row while Denis Leamy and Sean O’Brien also come into in the Ireland pack. The bench includes Rory Best, Stephen Ferris and Keith Earls.

Samoa have named a strong line-up for Saturday’s Test with nine European-based players in the team, including Leicester winger Alesana Tuilagi and London Irish duo Seilala Mapusua and George Stowers. Wasps regular David Lemi fills the right wing slot, while Tasesa Lavea of Clermont will direct operations at fly-half. Lavea is one of four players from Clermont in the 22 with Paul Williams at full-back and Tii Paulo and Gavin Williams on the bench.

Taranaki hooker Mahonri Schwalger leads a side that also contains five players who compete in New Zealand’s ITM Cup.


Ireland: L Fitzgerald; T Bowe, B O’Driscoll, P Wallace, A Trimble; R O’Gara, P Stringer; T Court, S Cronin, J Hayes; D O’Callaghan, D Toner; D Leamy, S O’Brien, J Heaslip
Replacements: R Best, C Healy, D Ryan, S Ferris, I Boss, J Sexton, K Earls.

Samoa: P Williams; D Lemi, G Pisi, Mapusua, A Tuilagi; T Lavea, K Fotualii; S Taulafo, M Schwalger (capt), A Perenise, F Lavea Levi, K Thompsen, O Trevarinus, M Salavea, G Stowers.
Replacements: T Paulo, S Lemalu, I Tekori, A Aiono, J Poluleuligaga, G Williams, J Helleur.