2009 British Lions Tour: Lions team Versus Western Province

Riki Flutey will win his first start of the Lions tour on Saturday after being named at inside centre for the match against Vodacom Western Province. He will be skippered by England prop Phil Vickery in a completely changed XV from the one that defeated the Sharks on Wednesday.

Vickery, wings Tommy Bowe and Ugo Monye and fly-half Stephen Jones, will all be aiming to press their claims for places in the Test team next weekend, whilst.Wales open-side flanker Martyn Williams returns to the team after injury.


Lions: Rob Kearney (Leinster/Ireland); Tommy Bowe (Ospreys/Ireland), Keith Earls (Munster/Ireland), Riki Flutey (Wasps/England), Ugo Monye (Harlequins/England); Stephen Jones (Scarlets/Wales), Harry Ellis (Leicester/England); Andrew Sheridan (Sale/England), Matthew Rees (Scarlets/Wales), Phil Vickery (London Wasps/England), Donncha O’Callaghan (Munster/Ireland), Nathan Hines (Perpignan/Scotland), Joe Worsley (Wasps/England), Martyn Williams (Cardiff Blues/Wales), Andy Powell (Cardiff Blues/Wales).
Replacements: Ross Ford (Edinburgh/Scotland), Euan Murray (Northampton/Scotland), Simon Shaw (Wasps/England), Tom Croft (Leicester/England), Mike Blair (Edinburgh/Scotland), James Hook (Ospreys/Wales), Gordon D’Arcy (Leinster/Ireland).