Neutral referees named for Lions series

The referees for the three Lions Tests against South Africa this summer have been confirmed by the International Rugby Board and they are: New Zealand’s Bryce Lawrence who will do the first Test, with France’s Christophe Berdos and Stuart Dickinson of Australia named for the other games.

IRB Referee manager Paddy O’Brien said (quote) They are all highly experienced members of the high-performance panel. We met with the Lions and South Africa team management last month,all were in favour of the appointment of neutral match officials for the Test series. (end quote)

The Tests take place in Durban on 20 June, Pretoria on 27 June and Johannesburg on 4 July.