All Blacks continue winning streak – New Zealand 29-10 Wales

New Zealand stretched their winning run over Wales to 23 games in 57 years with a hard-fought error strewn win in the second Test at Waikato Stadium, Hamilton.

Wales trailed at the break with the All Blacks Cory Jane scoring a try on 26 minutes whilst Dan Carter converted and potted a penalty to a penalty to Leigh Halfpenny, 13-3.

Cory Jane
Cory Jane

Wales competed better this time out, but New Zealand helped them with loads of handling errors coughing up the ball in contact. The game never looked in doubt and Dan Carter potted several chances at goal as the Blacks stretched out to 22-3. Wales thought they would end the game on a high as following a good patient build-up

Jamie Roberts
Jamie Roberts

scored and Stephen Jones converted to close to 22-10. However the All Blacks came straight back and Aaron Cruden with a cheeky chip ahead scored his first International try to give us the final score of:

New Zealand 29-10 Wales


New Zealand (13) 29
Tries: Jane, Cruden Cons: Carter, Kahui Pens: Carter 5
Wales (3) 10
Try: Roberts
Con: Jones Pen: Halfpenny


New Zealand: Mils Muliaina (Chiefs); Cory Jane (Hurricanes), Richard Kahui (Chiefs), Benson Stanley (Blues), Zac Guildford (Crusaders); Daniel Carter (Crusaders), Jimmy Cowan (Highlanders); Tony Woodcock (Blues), Keven Mealamu (Blues), Neemia Tialata (Hurricanes), Brad Thorn (Crusaders), Tom Donnelly (Highlanders), Jerome Kaino (Blues), Richie McCaw (capt, Crusaders), Kieran Read (Crusaders).
Replacements: Aled de Malmanche (Chiefs, for Mealamu, 71), Sam Whitelock (Crusaders, for Read 63), Adam Thomson (Highlanders, for Donnelly 48), Piri Weepu (Hurricanes, for Cowan 48), Aaron Cruden (Hurricanes, for Carter 71), Rene Ranger (Blues, for Stanley 55).
Not Used: Owen Franks (Crusaders).

Sin Bin: Whitelock (70).

Wales: Lee Byrne (Ospreys); Leigh Halfpenny (Cardiff Blues), Jonathan Davies (Scarlets), Jamie Roberts (Cardiff Blues), Tom Prydie (Ospreys); Dan Biggar (Ospreys), Mike Phillips (Ospreys); Paul James (Ospreys), Matthew Rees (Scarlets), Adam Jones (Ospreys), Bradley Davies (Cardiff Blues), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys), Jonathan Thomas (Ospreys), Gavin Thomas (Newport Gwent Dragons), Ryan Jones (capt, Ospreys).
Replacements: Huw Bennett (Ospreys, for Rees 66), Craig Mitchell (Ospreys), Deiniol Jones (Cardiff Blues, for B Davies 56), Rob McCusker (Scarlets for R Jones 26), Richie Rees (Cardiff Blues, for Phillips 66), Stephen Jones (Scarlets, for Biggar 72), Will Harries (Newport Gwent Dragons, for Prydie 69).
Not Used: Mitchell.

Sin Bin: Byrne (40), G. Thomas (70).

Referee: Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa).

Assistant referees: Craig Joubert (South Africa), James Leckie (Australia).

Television match official: George Ayoub (Australia).