Australian National Rugby League

Brisbane broncos


Canberra Raiders

Cronulla Sharks

Gold Coast Titans


Melbourne Storm

New Zealand Warriors

Newcastle Knights

North Queensland Cowboys

Parramatta Eels

Penrith Panthers

South Sydney Rabbitohs

St George

Sydney Roosters

Wests Tigers

The National Rugby League (NRL) is the top league of professional rugby league football clubs in Australasia. The NRL competition is contested by 16 clubs, 15 from Australia and one club from New Zealand, it is the region's elite rugby league championship. Rugby league has a tremendous following in Australia and games regularly have high attendance figures. At this time the NRL is sponsored by Telstra and so called the Telstra Premiership.

Telstra Premiership League Founded

The NRL was formed following the Super League war as a joint partnership between the national governing body, the Australian Rugby League (ARL) and the News Corporation's Super League after both organisations ran premierships parallel to each other in 1997. The NRL controls the number of teams in the competition and there is no relegation as it is a closed franchise operation. There is talk of the 16 team total being increased in the future.

World Club Challenge

At the end of each season the NRL champions play a game against the winners of the European Super League competition in the World Club Challenge.