Officials Error Helps Wales – Wales 19-13 Ireland

Wales stay in the hunt for the championship with a nail-biting Six Nations win over Ireland in Cardiff on Saturday.
Ireland had led 13-9 at half-time thanks to Brian O’Driscoll’s record-equalling 24th championship try.

But a quick line-out play which should never have been allowed caught the Irish flat-footed as Mike Phillips broke away to score, Wales had used a different ball at the line-out and for some reason the assistant referee failed to notice. James Hook converted that score and kicked four out of five penalties as Wales survived a late Irish onslaught. to post the final score of:

Wales 19-13 Ireland


Try: Phillips Con: Hook Pens: Hook 4
Try: O’Driscoll Con: O’Gara Pens: O’Gara 2


Wales: 15-Lee Byrne, 14-Leigh Halfpenny, 13-Jamie Roberts, 12-Jonathan Davies, 11-Shane Williams, 10-James Hook, 9-Mike Phillips; 1-Paul James, 2-Matthew Rees (captain), 3-Craig Mitchell, 4-Bradley Davies, 5-Alun Wyn Jones, 6-Dan Lydiate, 7-Sam Warburton, 8-Ryan Jones.
Replacements: Yapp for Mitchell (13), J Thomas for R Jones (60), Hibbard for Rees (72).
Not Used: McCusker, Peel, S Jones, Stoddart.

Ireland: 15-Luke Fitzgerald, 14-Tommy Bowe, 13-Brian O’Driscoll (captain), 12-Gordon D’Arcy, 11-Keith Earls, 10-Ronan O’Gara, 9-Eoin Reddan; 1-Cian Healy, 2-Rory Best, 3-Mike Ross, 4-Donncha O’Callaghan, 5-Paul O’Connell, 6-Sean O’Brien, 7-David Wallace, 8-Jamie Heaslip.
Replacements: Stringer for Reddan (1), Sexton for O’Gara (49), Court for Ross (69), Leamy for Heaslip (69), P Wallace for Fitzgerald (72), Cronin for Best (76), Cullen for O’Callaghan (76).

Attendance: 73,856


Referee: Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa)
Touch judges: Craig Joubert (South Africa) & Peter Allan (Scotland)
TV: Geoff Warren (England)