Rugby World Cup Irish squad

Declan Kidney has named his 30 man squad for New Zealand and it contains a couple of surprises. Two who many did not expect are; Munster scrum-half Conor Murray and Leicester full-back Geordan Murphy. It would seem that Murphy has been included after Felix Jones was ruled out with an ankle injury gained during Saturday’s match against France. Murray keeps out Tomas O’Leary.

O’Leary misses out following a poor display in Saturday’s 26-22 defeat by the French in Dublin. The other scrum-halves are, Eoin Reddan and Isaac Boss. With O’Leary, Fitzgerald is another big-name casualty who has also missed out because of a loss of form.

Only four props have been selected, with Tony Buckley taking the last available place, beating off competition from John Hayes and Marcus Horan. Donnacha Ryan goes as the fourth lock but also covers back row, Stephen Ferris gets the nod after making his first appearance since January last Saturday. Andrew Trimble’s good form during the summer secured his selection and his Tommy Bowe is in despite not having played this month because of a foot injury.

Ireland are in Pool ‘C’, with Australia, Italy, Russia and the USA and must be one of the favourites to qualify along with Australia.


R Best (Ulster), I Boss (Leinster), T Bowe (Ospreys), T Buckley (Sale), T Court (Ulster), S Cronin (Leinster), L Cullen (Leinster), G D’Arcy (Leinster), K Earls (Munster), S Ferris (Ulster), J Flannery (Munster), C Healy (Leinster), J Heaslip (Leinster), R Kearney (Leinster), D Leamy (Munster), F McFadden (Leinster), G Murphy (Leicester), C Murray (Munster), S O’Brien (Leinster), D O’Callaghan (Munster), P O’Connell (Munster), B O’Driscoll (Leinster, capt), R O’Gara (Munster), E Reddan (Leinster), M Ross (Leinster), D Ryan (Munster), J Sexton (Leinster), A Trimble (Ulster), P Wallace (Ulster), D Wallace (Munster).