Scotland compete and win – Scotland 21-17 South Africa

Scotland played the conditions and fronted up in the physical aspects of the game to earn a deserved victory over the SpringBoks 21-17. Having held a narrow lead 12-9 at half time.

Dan Parks turned in an unerring kicking display and Scotland held their nerve to beat South Africa at a rain-soaked Murrayfield. Parks kicked six penalties and a drop-goal. Whilst Morne Steyn landed four penalties as the Springboks struggled in the wet. Willem Alberts crashed over from a lineout for a late South Africa try but Scotland survived to make amends for last weekend’s record mauling from New Zealand. Final score:

Scotland 21-17 South Africa


Pens: Parks 6 drop-goal: Parks
South Africa
Try: Alberts Pens: Steyn 4


Scotland: 15-Hugo Southwell, 14-Nikki Walker, 13-Joe Ansbro, 12-Graeme Morrison, 11-Sean Lamont, 10-Dan Parks, 9-Rory Lawson (captain); 1-Allan Jacobsen, 2-Ross Ford, 3-Euan Murray, 4-Scott MacLeod, 5-Richie Gray, 6-Nathan Hines, 7-John Barclay, 8-Kelly Brown.
Replacements: 16-Dougie Hall, 17-Moray Low, 18-Richie Vernon, 19-Ross Rennie, 20-Greig Laidlaw, 21-Ruaridh Jackson, 22-Chris Paterson.

South Africa: 15-Zane Kirchner, 14-Gio Aplon, 13-Francois Steyn, 12-Jean de Villiers, 11-Lwazi Mvovo, 10-Morne Steyn, 9-Francois Hougaard; 1-Tendai Mtawarira, 2-Bismarck du Plessis, 3-Jannie du Plessis, 4-Bakkies Botha, 5-Victor Matfield (captain), 6-Deon Stegmann, 7-Juan Smith, 8-Ryan Kankowski.
Replacements: 16-Adriaan Strauss, 17-CJ van der Linde, 18-Flip van der Merwe, 19-Willem Alberts, 20-Ruan Pienaar, 21-Patrick Lambie, 22-Adi Jacobs