Six Nations selection Wales v Ireland Saturday

Wales host Ireland on Saturday 12 March in the Six Nations at the Millennium Stadium, Cardiff with Kick-off: 1700 GMT and live coverage on BBC One.

Gatland has moved Hook yet again and he will start at fly-half. Centre Jonathan Davies is fit again after the hamstring injury that kept him out of the win in Italy and returns to partner Jamie Roberts in midfield. The changes mean that Stephen Jones drops to the bench, while Leigh Halfpenny replaces Morgan Stoddart on the wing. Scrum-half Dwayne Peel is named on the bench in place of Tavis Knoyle. Whilst among the replacements, Ospreys hooker Richard Hibbard has overcome his shoulder injury and provides front-row cover with Cardiff Blues prop John Yapp. There is still an injury doubt over Jonathan Thomas (dead leg), so Wales will decide on Thursday which two from Osprey Thomas; Rob McCusker of Scarlets and Andy Powell of Wasps will provide back-five cover from the bench.

Ireland coach Declan Kidney has named an unchanged 15 for Saturday’s Six Nations game against Wales in Cardiff. Eoin Reddan retains his place at scrum-half despite the return of Tomas O’Leary from injury.


Wales: Lee Byrne (Ospreys); Leigh Halfpenny (Blues), Jamie Roberts (Blues), Jonathan Davies (Scarlets), Shane Williams (Ospreys); James Hook (Ospreys), Mike Phillips (Ospreys); Paul James (Ospreys), Matthew Rees (Scarlets, capt), Craig Mitchell (Ospreys), Bradley Davies (Blues), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys), Dan Lydiate (Dragons), Sam Warburton (Blues), Ryan Jones (Ospreys).
Replacements: Richard Hibbard (Ospreys), John Yapp (Blues) – two from: Rob McCusker (Scarlets), Andy Powell (London Wasps), Jonathan Thomas (Ospreys) – Dwayne Peel (Sale Sharks), Stephen Jones (Scarlets), Morgan Stoddart (Scarlets).

Ireland: Fitzgerald; Bowe, B O’Driscoll, D’Arcy, Earls; O’Gara, Reddan; Healy, Best, Ross, O’Callaghan, O’Connell, O’Brien, D Wallace, Heaslip.
Replacements: Cronin, Court, Cullen, Leamy, Stringer, Sexton, Wallace.

Referee: Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa).

Assistant referees: Craig Joubert (South Africa) & Peter Allan (Scotland).

TMO: Geoff Warren (England).