South Africa win seesaw match – South Africa 44-31 Australia

South Africa recovered from a error strewn start to beat Australia and move to second place in the Tri-Nations. The Wallabies had 14 points up in just 4 minutes as Will Genia and James O’Connor both went over. The Springboks then got on the score sheet thanks to Juan Smith, only for James O’Conner to pounce on an error by Bryan Habana. 21-7 Australia. The Boks narrowed the lead with a try by Gurthro Steenkamp and penalty by Morne Steyn 17-21 and still only 20 minutes on the clock.
The half then ended with the Wallabies Dean Mumm going over followed by Boks Pierre Spies on 32 minutes to give us the half-time score of: South Africa 24-28 Australia.

The second period and things unravelled for the Wallabies after Steyn and Matt Giteau had exchanged penalty goals in the 47th and 49th minutes before the Springboks took the lead 34-31 for the first time in the match through a Francois Steyn try. Francois Steyn increased the lead to 37-31 with a 68th minute penalty goal and a JP Pietersen try a minute from time gave us the unlikely final score of:

South Africa 44-31 Australia


South Africa
Tries: Smith, Steenkamp, Spies, Francois Steyn, JP PietersenCons: Morne Steyn 4, Butch James Pens: Morne Steyn 2, Francois Steyn
Tries: O’Connor 2, Genia, Mumm Cons: Giteau 4 Giteau Pens: Giteau


South Africas: Frans Steyn, JP Pietersen, Jaque Fourie, Jean de Villiers, Bryan Habana, Morné Steyn, Francois Hougaard, Pierre Spies, Juan Smith, Schalk Burger, Victor Matfield, Flip van der Merwe, Jannie du Plessis, John Smit (C), Gurthrö Steenkamp
Substitutes: Chiliboy Ralepelle, CJ van der Linde, Danie Rossouw, Ryan Kankowski, Ricky Januarie, Butch James, Juan de Jongh

Australia: Kurtley Beale, James O’Connor, Adam Ashley-Cooper, Matt Giteau, Drew Mitchell, Quade Cooper, Will Genia, Richard Brown, David Pocock, Rocky Elsom(C), Nathan Sharpe, Dean Mumm, Salesi Ma’afu, Saia Faingaa,Benn Robinson
Substitutes: Stephen Moore, James Slipper, Ben McCalman, Scott Higginbotham, Luke Burgess, Berrick Barnes, Anthony Faingaa