Squads for England v Argentina Saturday

Stuart Lancaster and Daniel Hourcade have named their squads for Saturdays QBE international at Twickenham on Saturday 9 November with Kick-off: 14:30 GMT.

qbe 2013

Lancaster will firm up his starting fifteen at 10:45 on Thursday. Whilst Hourcade already has his line up.

England only have one change in the squad with fit again Alex Corbisiero replacing Mako Vunipola who has been released back to his club.

The big talking point is the inclusion of Billy Twelvetrees for Saturday’s Test against Argentina at Twickenham, as he did not put on one of his best displays last week. Full marks to Lancaster for giving him another chance, given how well he played on the summer tour to Argentina.

Twelvetrees stay in despite being at fault for the Wallabies’ try and he also gave away two penalties. Lancaster is remaining loyal, though, and said: “Billy is disappointed with one or two areas of his game, but a lot of areas were pretty good. We have to give him credit for that.”

The other player under pressure is Lee Dickson the scrum-half has the heat from Ben Youngs, who impressed after coming on as a second-half substitute against Australia.

One possible change to the starting line-up is Wasps wing Christian Wade, scorer of two brilliant individual tries against Gloucester at the weekend, he could win his second cap and make his Twickenham début on Saturday, replacing either Chris Ashton or Marland Yarde.

There is a change on the bench with second row Geoff Parling replacing Dave Attwood after recovering from the mild concussion sustained in training last week. Apart from Corbisiero’s return, the pack stays the same, although Tom Youngs’ wife is expecting their first child, so Dylan Hartley may start at hooker.

Lancaster said: “We’re pleased with the way the pack went at the weekend. I’m not going to start making grand statements about our pack because we know there are definitely areas we can improve on.”But when you look at the young age and some of the size and athletic ability we have in the forwards – the physicality-pace-power equation – we have some good options building now, some good depth emerging.”

England squad:

Forwards: Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers), Alex Corbisiero (Northampton Saints), Joe Marler (Harlequins), David Wilson (Bath Rugby); Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints), Rob Webber (Bath Rugby), Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers); Joe Launchbury (London Wasps), Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints), Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers); Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins), Billy Vunipola (Saracens), Tom Wood (Northampton Saints).

Backs: Chris Ashton (Saracens), Mike Brown (Harlequins), Ben Foden (Northampton Saints), Christian Wade (London Wasps), Marland Yarde (London Irish); Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints), Joel Tomkins (Saracens), Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester Rugby); Owen Farrell (Saracens), Toby Flood (Leicester Tigers); Danny Care (Harlequins), Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers).

For Argentina Back-row forward Juan Manuel Leguizamon will captain. This because Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe has been ruled out of the Pumas’ three autumn Tests in Europe with a fractured elbow. Former London Irish number eight Leguizamon, who has won 52 caps. will also lead Argentina against Wales and Italy this month.

New coach Daniel Hourcade has made five changes from the team crushed 54-17 by Australia in the Rugby Championship.

Full-back Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino, centre Santiago Fernandez and scrum-half Tomas Cubelli come into the side.

Amorosino replaces the injured Juan Martin Hernandez, Fernandez takes over from the now-retired Felipe Contepomi, while Cubelli has been preferred to Martin Landajo, with both nines playing their club rugby in the amateur Buenos Aires championship.

Maximiliano Bustos comes into the front row for injured prop Juan Figallo, while a late change sees Eusebio Guinazu retain his place after Agustin Creevy withdrew injured.

Further positional changes see brilliant youngster Pablo Matera move from open-side flanker to blind-side to cover the absent Lobbe, while Julio Farias Cabello switches from lock to open-side.

Hourcade took charge last week following the resignation of Santiago Phelan, after Argentina went win less for a second year in the southern hemisphere Rugby Championship.

Argentina team:

Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino, Horacio Agulla, Marcelo Bosch, Santiago Fernandez, Juan Imhoff, Nicolas Sanchez, Tomas Cubelli; Marcos Ayerza, Eusebio Guinazu, Maximiliano Bustos, Mariano Galarza, Patricio Albacete, Pablo Matera, Julio Farias Cabello, Juan Manuel Leguizamon (captain).
Replacements: Santiago Iglesias, Nahuel Lobo, Juan Pablo Orlandi, Manuel Carizza, Benjamín Macome, Martin Landajo, Gonzalo Tiesi, Santiago Cordero.