European Super League Rugby

Bradford Bulls

Castleford Tigers

Catalan Dragons

Celtic Crusaders

Huddersfield Giants

Hull FC

Hull KR

Leeds Rhinos

London Broncos

Salford City Reds

St Helens


Warrington Wolves

Widnes Vikings

Wigan Warriors

Super League is the top professional rugby league competition operating in the northern hemisphere. Most of the teams are based in Great Britain, though there have been French club involvement with Paris Saint Germain in the early days of the Super League and French club Union Treiziste Catalane, known better as Les Catalans Dragons, who joined for the 2006 season. The present sponsor of the League is engage Mutual Assurance and thus the competition is currently officially known as the engage Rugby Super League.

Engage Super League Founded

Super League (Europe) (SLE) commenced in March 1996 and introduced the successful season switch from winter to summer. During the league's regular season, each team plays 27 games over 27 rounds from February to September. At the end of the regular season, the top six teams in Super League play in the playoffs, which finishes with the Grand Final. Each English team is allowed to have five quota players. French side Catalans Dragons are allowed six non-French players.

World Club Challenge

At the end of each season the competition winners play a game against the top side of the Australasian National Rugby League competition in the World Club Challenge.