Teams Australia v South Africa TRI-NATIONS game

This weekend sees the first TRI-NATIONS game as AUSTRALIA host SOUTH AFRICA at Stadium Australia, Sydney on Saturday 23 July with Kick-off: 1100 BST and Coverage: Live on Sky Sports 4.

Following the Samoa loss, it is not surprising that Matt Giteau, veteran of 92 Tests, has been dropped and not even made the bench.

Full-back Kurtley Beale and half-backs Quade Cooper and Will Genia have been recalled by coach Robbie Deans. Amongst the forwards David Pocock returns from injury in the back row, while James Horwill and Rob Simmons are in the second row.

Meanwhile, Props Dean Greyling and Werner Kruger and flanker Ashley Johnson will all make their d├ębuts for the Springboks.

South Africa will test their fringe players after a run of injuries.
Uncapped scrum-half Charl McLeod is on the bench while Johann Muller and Flip van der Merwe play in the second row in the absence of the experienced partnership of Bakkies Botha and Victor Matfield.


Australia: Kurtley Beale; James O’Connor, Adam Ashley-Cooper, Pat McCabe, Digby Ioane; Quade Cooper, Will Genia; Ben Alexander, Stephen Moore, Sekope Kepu, James Horwill, Rob Simmons, David Pocock, Rocky Elsom, Ben McCalman. Replacements: Saia Fainga’a, Pek Cowan, Nathan Sharpe, Matt Hodgson, Scott Higginbotham, Nick Phipps, Anthony Fainga’a.

South Africa: Gio Aplon; Bjorn Basson, Juan de Jongh, Wynand Olivier, Lwazi Mvovo; Morne Steyn, Ruan Pienaar; Werner Kruger, John Smit, Dean Greyling, Johann Muller, Flip van der Merwe, Danie Rossouw, Deon Stegmann, Ashley Johnson. Replacements: Chiliboy Ralepelle, CJ van der Linde, Alistair Hargreaves, Jean Deysel, Charl McLeod, Adrian Jacobs, Patrick Lambie.