Teams Italy v Scotland Six Nations 2012

Scotland travel to Italy looking for a good performance to avoid the wooden spoon. Their match is the first on the final day of the 2012 RBS Six Nations, with kick-off at 12:30 GMT at Stadio Olimpico, Rome on Saturday 17 March 2012.

Andy Robinson has made just one change for the game bringing back Nick De Luca in the centre replacing Lee Jones, which means Max Evans returns to the wing.

Jacques Brunel has made 6 changes to the Italian line-up with perhaps one of the biggest surprises being the return so quickly of prop Martin Castrogiovanni, given that he had a broken rib. The other changes are: Giovambattista Venditti for Luke McLean on the right wing, Tommaso Benvenuti in the centre. Edoardo Gori gets the nod over Fabio Semenzato at scrum-half and Simone Favaro drops to the bench with flanker Robert Barbieri replacing him.

Lock Joshua Furno, 22 and born in Australia could make his Six Nations d├ębut, having been selected among the replacements.

How do we see this one panning out? An away win just as the Scots put on a performance at last for 80 minutes and prove to much for the Azzurri


Italy: A Masi (Aironi Rugby), G Venditti (Aironi Rugby), T Benvenuti (Benetton Treviso), G Canale (Clermont-Auvergne), Mirco Bergamasco, (Racing-Metro Paris), K Burton (Benetton Treviso), E Gori (Benetton Treviso), A Lo Cicero (Racing Metro-Paris), L Ghiraldini (Benetton Treviso), M Castrogiovanni (Leicester Tigers), Q Geldenhuys (Aironi Rugby), M Bortolami (Aironi Rugby), A Zanni (Benetton Treviso), R Barbieri (Benetton Treviso), S Parisse (C) (Stade Francais).
Replacements: T D’Apice (Aironi Rugby), L Cittadini (Benetton Treviso), J Furno (Aironi Rugby), S Favaro (Aironi Rugby), M Vosawai (Benetton Treviso), T Botes (Benetton Treviso), G Toniolatti (Aironi Rugby), M Rizzo (Benetton Treviso), A Sgarbi (Benetton Treviso).

Scotland: S Hogg (Glasgow Warriors), M Evans (Castres), N De Luca (Edinburgh), G Morrison (Glasgow Warriors), S Lamont (Scarlets), G Laidlaw (Edinburgh), M Blair (Edinburgh), A Jacobsen (Edinburgh), R Ford (C) (Edinburgh), G Cross (Edinburgh), R Gray (Glasgow Warriors), J Hamilton (Gloucester), J Barclay (Glasgow Warriors), R Rennie (Edinburgh), D Denton (Edinburgh).
Replacements: S Lawson (Gloucester), E Murray (Newcastle), A Kellock (Glasgow Warriors), R Vernon (Sale Sharks), C Cusiter (Glasgow Warriors), R Jackson (Glasgow Warriors), J Cuthbert (Bath).


Referee : Alain Rolland (Ireland)
Touch judges : George Clancy (Ireland), Pascal Gauzere (France)
TV : Tony Redmond (Ireland)