South Africa v Australia teams Saturday 28 August

The teams for the match in Pretoria on Saturday have been announced and South Africa will honour Victor Matfield with 30,000 lookalikes in the crowd as he runs on for his 100th cap just one behind skipper John Smit.

Victor Matfield

For the Wallabies Robbie Deans makes just one change as Quade Cooper returns at flyhalf against the Boks. Cooper, who has missed the last two Test matches due to suspension, replaces his Queensland Reds team-mate Anthony Faingaa in the starting 15, with Matt Giteau moving out one position in the backline to inside centre.

Quade Cooper


The Springboks: 15 Frans Steyn, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 John Smit (Captain), 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp
Substitutes: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Ryan Kankowski, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Butch James, 22 Juan de Jongh

Australia: 15.Kurtley Beale, 14.James O’Connor, 13.Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12.Matt Giteau, 11.Drew Mitchell, 10.Quade Cooper, 9.Will Genia, 8.Richard Brown, 7.David Pocock, 6.Rocky Elsom(captain), 5.Nathan Sharpe, 4.Dean Mumm, 3.Salesi Ma’afu, 2.Saia Faingaa,1.Benn Robinson
Substitutes: 16.Stephen Moore, 17.James Slipper, 18.Ben McCalman, 19.Scott Higginbotham, 20.Luke Burgess, 21. Berrick Barnes, 22. Anthony Faingaa

Referee: Alain Rolland of Ireland

SOUTH AFRICA V AUSTRALIA – LOFTUS VERSFELD, PRETORIA. Saturday 28 August Kick-off 16:00 GST Live SkySports4