Two newbies for England and three for South Africa

Tom Johnson and Joe Marler will get their first caps on Saturday whilst Eben Etzebeth, Juandre Kruger and Marcell Coetzee will do the same for South Africa. They all are named in the starting fifteens for the first test in Durban on Saturday 9 June kick-off 16:00BST.

The Exeter backrower who brings ball carrying skills as well as size

Johnson steps in for Tom Croft and Harlequins prop

Joe Marler replaces Alex Corbisiero. The big question on marler will be can he keep his discipline? A move in the backline touted by many pundits sees Mike Brown in at full-back, with Ben Foden moving to the wing replacing the injured David Strettle. Another uncapped player, London Irish centre Jonathan Joseph, is on the replacements bench.

Stuart Lancaster said: “Tom and Joe have had great seasons at their clubs and have worked really hard to get this chance. Both are in great form and have really impressed in training. Equally, Mike Brown has been outstanding for Harlequins. By moving Ben to the wing we retain his strike power and aerial skills. We can utilise not only Mike’s attacking and defensive assets, but also call on his left-footed kicking game. We have made no secret of how tough this series will be but it is an opportunity we are looking forward to and I am confident that we can perform.”

South Africa coach Heyneke Meyer has chosen three uncapped players in his starting fifteen, with the lock pair of Eben Etzebeth and Juandre Kruger, as well as a debut for Sharks flanker Marcell Coetzee.


South Africa
: Zane Kirchner, JP Pietersen, Jean de Villiers (c), Frans Steyn, Bryan Habana, Morne Steyn, Francois Hougaard, Tendai Mtawarira, Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis, Eben Etzebeth, Juandre Kruger, Marcell Coetzee, Willem Alberts, Pierre Spies.
Replacements: A Strauss, C Oosthuizen, F van der Merwe, K Daniel, R Pienaar, P Lambie, W Olivier.

England: Mike Brown, Chris Ashton, Manu Tuilagi, Brad Barritt, Ben Foden, Owen Farrell, Ben Youngs, Joe Marler, Dylan Hartley, Dan Cole, Mouritz Botha, Geoff Parling, Tom Johnson, Chris Robshaw (c), Ben Morgan.
Replacements: Lee Mears, Paul Doran Jones, Tom Palmer, Phil Dowson, Lee Dickson,Toby Flood, Jonathan Joseph