Australia crush Wales – Wales 12-33 Australia

Australia finished their tour of Europe with their best preformance in crushing Wales. The Wallabies completely outplayed the Welsh but only led 12-23 at half times through scores by Digby Ioane, James Horwill and David Pocock who was everywhere.

David Pocock
David Pocock

Wales kept in touch through three Stephen Jones and one Leigh Halfpenny penalties, but were disrupted by key injuries to; Shane Williams, Leigh Halfpenny and Matthew Rees.
The second half and it was all Australia as they pulled away with a further try by Tatafu Polota-Nau, producing the final score of:

Wales 12-33 Australia


Pens: Halfpenny, S Jones (3)
Tries: Ioane, Horwill, Pocock, Polota-Nau Cons: Giteau (2) Pens: Giteau (3)


Wales: James Hook (Ospreys); Leigh Halfpenny; Jamie Roberts (both Cardiff Blues), Jonathan Davies (Scarlets); Shane Williams (Ospreys); Stephen Jones (Scarlets), Dwayne Peel (Sale); Gethin Jenkins (capt, Blues), Matthew Rees (Scarlets), Paul James, Alun-Wyn Jones (both Ospreys), Luke Charteris (Newport Gwent Dragons), Dan Lydiate (Dragons), Martyn Williams (Blues), Andy Powell (Blues).
Replacements: Huw Bennett, Duncan Jones, Jonathan Thomas (all Ospreys), Sam Warburton (Blues), Martin Roberts (Scarlets), Andrew Bishop (Ospreys), Tom James (Blues).

Australia: Adam Ashley-Cooper (Brumbies); Peter Hynes (Queensland Reds), Digby Ioane (Queensland Reds), Quade Cooper (Queensland Reds), Drew Mitchell (NSW Waratahs); Matt Giteau (Brumbies), Will Genia (Queensland Reds); Benn Robinson (NSW Waratahs), Stephen Moore (Brumbies), Ben Alexander (Brumbies), James Horwill (Queensland Reds), Dean Mumm (NSW Waratahs), Rocky Elsom (capt, Brumbies), David Pocock (Western Force), Wycliff Palu (NSW Waratahs).
Replacements: Tatafu Polota-Nau (NSW Waratahs), Matt Dunning (Western Force), Mark Chisholm (Brumbies), George Smith (Brumbies), Luke Burgess (NSW Waratahs), James O’Connor (Western Force), Kurtley Beale (NSW Waratahs).

Referee: Wayne Barnes (Eng).