Wales make 10 changes for Japan

Wales coach Gareth Jenkins has made 10 changes to the side to face Japan at the Millennium Stadium on Thursday. Scrum-half Mike Phillips gets his first start and there is an entirely new front row from the team which faced Australia. Alix Popham returns at number 8 while Will James replaces Ian Gough.

Kevin Morgan replaces the injured Gareth Thomas at full-back, while James Hook and Jamie Robinson are the centre pairing with Dafydd James on the wing. Only Shane Williams, Stephen Jones, Alun Wyn Jones, Jonathan Thomas and Colin Charvis keep their places in the side and this will be Shane Williams 50th cap for his country.

Wales Team V Japan

Backs: Kevin Morgan, Dafydd James, Jamie Robinson, James Hook, Shane Williams, Stephen Jones(C), Mike Phillips.
Forwards: Duncan Jones, Rhys Thomas, Chris Horsman, Will James, Alun Wyn Jones, Jonathan Thomas, Colin Charvis, Alix Popham.
Replacements: Huw Bennett, Gethin Jenkins, Ian Evans, Martyn Williams, Gareth Cooper, Ceri Sweeney, Tom Shanklin.