Wasps claim the Guinness premiership Title

Tries by Tom Rees and Josh Lewsey, plus 13 points from the boot of Mark van Gisbergen put Wasps 23-6 up at half-time and we all thought that was game over.
But write Leicester off at your peril.

Tries from Tom Varndell and Harry Ellis closed the gap but an off day for Andy Goode and 4 missed kicks in the second half proved the difference between the sides. It was Wasps’ fourth league title in six seasons and was a fitting way for 35-year-old former England captain Dallaglio to end a glittering 18-year career with the London club, even better that it was in front of an 81,600 world-record club crowd, as Wasps went on to win with the final score:

Wasps (23) 26
Try: Rees, Lewsey Pens: Van Gisbergen (4) Cons: Van Gisbergen (2)
Leicester (6) 16
Try: Varndell, Ellis Pens: Goode Cons: Goode


Wasps: Mark Van Gisbergen, Paul Sackey, Fraser Waters, Dominic Waldouck, Josh Lewsey, Riki Flutey, Eoin Reddan, Tim Payne, Raphael Ibanez, Phil Vickery, Simon Shaw, Tom Palmer, James Haskell, Tom Rees, Lawrence Dallaglio (capt). Replacements: Joe Ward, Pat Barnard, Richard Birkett, Joe Worsley, Mark McMillan, Jeremy Staunton, John Hart

Leicester: Geordan Murphy, Tom Varndell, Dan Hipkiss, Aaron Mauger, Alesana Tuilagi, Andy Goode, Harry Ellis, Boris Stankovich, Mefin Davies, Julian White, Marco Wentzel, Ben Kay, Martin Corry (capt), Ben Herring, Jordan Crane. Replacements: Ben Kayser, Marcos Ayerza, Richard Blaze, Tom Croft, Christophe Laussucq, Sam Vesty, Ayoola Erinle